Build Dates: July 1st & 2nd

Family Information:

Father- Lorenzo

  • Age: 41
  • Profession: Field Worker
  • Weekly Salary: $40 approximately

Mother- Martha

  • Age: 25
  • Profession: Field Worker
  • Weekly Salary: $40 approximately

Children-

  • Michel, 7 yrs, 1st Grade (girl)
  • Martha's sister also lives with them, along with her husband and 6 month old baby

Property Information:

Colonia- Tinajitas
Time with property- 2 years
Electricity- No
Running Water- Yes

Family Story:

Martha and Lorenzo met while working in the fields. Lorenzo went and talked to Martha's parents and asked them for their daughter's hand in marriage. He moved in with Martha's family and they lived there for 8 years and during that time, Michel was born. One day Martha's parents decided to sell their land and Lorenzo and Martha had to buy their own land on credit. They used materials from their parent's old house to build the house where they currently live. Martha's sister is living with them along with her husband and their new baby. They all work in the fields while Martha's sister Alicia stays home with her baby and Michel. They have been living in this house for 2 years and pay $118 a month as a payment. For this reason they all work and they still struggle to cover all their costs of living. Their house is a room made from pieces of wood. They have a small stove and all sleep on the floor in the small bedroom. They haven't even been able to buy furniture because so much of their earnings go to paying off their land.

Comment