Building Dates: February 13-14, 2016

Family Information:

IMG_1681.JPG

Father- Luis Antonio

  • Age: 37
    • Profession: Gas station
  • Weekly Salary: $46

Mother- Silvia

  • Age: 42
  • Profession: stay at home mom
  • Weekly Salary: n/a

 

Children-

  • Stefany, age 16
  • Luis Antonio, age 15

Property Information:  

Time with property - 8 months

Letter From the Family: 

To whom it may concern, hello, my name is Silvia Veronica Gutierrez Osuna, wife and mother. I have 2 kids, Stefany of 16 years and Luis of 15 years. They are both full time high school students, Stefany is in her second year and Luis is in his first year. I am 42 years old and am handicapped for life. I have been married for 18 years. 

Ten years ago I worked as a cleaner. I was cleaning a men's bathroom and fell on my left knee whilst I was mopping. Government insurance didn't provide the adequate care I needed. My knee became worse and a year after my fall, they operated on my knee. They reset my leg but it didn't go well; I got an infection and lost my kneecap. I didn't receive a pension because they said I have some consequences from polio. I also have spina bifida and bladder problems. Because of my disability, I no longer have the possibility of getting a job. Sometimes to help support my family economically I make salsa, flan, cakes, or piñatas. My husband sells them with the help of my kids because I don't usually go out. The eco taxis cost a lot and I can't bring myself to spend the little that I make. My husband is the support of our house. We have just recently started moving forward. 

We currently live in a room made of used wood, some pieces we bought and some were lent to us. The roof is made of wood and covered by a tarp that was lent to us. It doesn't have tar or anything that keeps the rain out and I fear that the rain will leak inside the house. When it is hot, the roof heats up a lot and I have told my husband that it causes my head to hurt a lot since I am in the house so often. I have learned to handle it because there really isn't anything else I can do. The floor is made of dirt and my husband has put down some pieces of wood as well. My couch is very old and I cant really sit on it anymore. My husband and I sleep in one bed with my son. My son used to sleep on the floor on top of some blankets, but when the weather was hot, cockroaches began to come into the house. My daughter sleeps on our old couch. She goes to my friend's house to change her clothes, because we really don't have a bathroom. My neighbor friend lets my kids and husband use her bathroom. For myself, I have a small bathroom area beside my bed. There I bathe myself and go to the bathroom. This is just what I have been using while I wait for my husband to build us a bathroom. 

This is why a Home of Hope is so important for my family and I. I cannot work to support my family and husband as I would like to. Sometimes I lose hope because of our economic situation, or because the house gets really hot and only one of our two windows can open. Our situation makes me cry because of my kids and husband. I am very strong but when I am alone, I ask the Lord to strengthen me so I don't give up in front of my kids, and so that I can sow a seed of hope in them. It is very hard for me to be the way I am and see our situation and not be able to do anything. I just hope in the Lord and that He has something better for my family. 

Thank you so much for your time and attention. I hope there is a someone who will partner with our situation.

-Thanks, Navarro Gutierrez Family

Comment