Build Dates: October 9th-10th

Family Information:

Father- Jose

  • Age: 39
  • Profession: welder
  • Weekly Salary: $80

Mother- Maria

  • Age: 28
  • Profession: Homemaker
  • Weekly Salary: N/A

Children-

  • Rosario, 3 yrs, Kindergarten
  • Reynaldo, 8 yrs, 4th Grade

 

Property Information:

Colonia- El Veladero
Time with property- 7 months
Electricity- No
Running Water- No

Family Story:

Jose and Maria became a family 9 years ago. Jose is originally from Sinaloa and Maria from Guerrero. They have officially been married for 2 years because the first 7 years together they just lived in a free union. They were living in a very small house that they rented until they got themselves a piece of land last year. Once they had the land, they built a small structure there and left the rented house for their land. Their current place is where they eat, sleep and live; it has only a dirt floor and the roof is pieced together. Maria's sister, Flor (who suffers from epilepsy), also lives with them and is cared for by Maria. Jose works as a welder for a company and earns minimum wage, about $80 a week. His salary is barely enough sometimes to cover all the household expenses and make their land payments. Maria is unable to work as she needs to care for their children and her sister who cannot take care of herself. They are in a very difficult situation and have no support from others. The "house"where they live right now has insects and they are sick often because of the dirt and not having a proper house. The desire of the family is to provide a safe home for their children, and a better life for all.

Comment