Build Dates: October 25th & 26th

Family Information:

Father- Gerardo

  • Age: 31

  • Profession: Packages Vegetables

  • Daily Salary: $12 approx.

Mother- Rosa

  • Age: 31

  • Profession: Packages Vegetables

  • Daily Salary: $9 approx

Children-

  • Fredy, 15 yrs, High School

  • Jerry, 7 yrs, 2nd Grade

Property Information:

Colonia- Girasoles
Time with property- 8 months  
Electricity- No
Running Water- Yes
Structure- Wood & Tarp
 

Family Story:

Gerardo and Rosa are originally from Oaxaca, they met each other there and entered a free union together. When Rosa met Gerardo, she already had her son Fredy. They came to Ensenada as a family looking for work and a better way of life. Rosa had family here who helped them get settled in a rental. After moving here, they welcomed Jerry into their family. Last year they got land on credit and continue to make monthly payments for it. The land cost about $9,000 USD, and their monthly payment is $110. They built a room with plywood and put a tarp over the roof; they have lived here since the beginning of January. Gerardo and Rosa both work for the same company packaging squash, green beans, and peas. Gerardo works at night from 6pm to 1am, Monday-Saturday and earns $12 a day. Rosa works the morning shift from 6am to 1pm so she can be off when her children are out of school, earning $9 a day. Their children go to school, Fredy goes in the morning and Jerry in the afternoon. They need a house because their salary is not enough to provide the means for them to be able to cover their personal expenses, land payment and all the materials to build the house. They do not want to pay rent anymore and that is why they got the land. Their son Jerry has always wanted a home and it would be a dream come true for him if they received one from Homes of Hope.

Comment